The first Rose Bowl game was played in 1902 when Michigan defeated Stanford by a score of 49-0.  Technically, that would make the first college football bowl game sponsor the Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association, but for years it was simply called the Rose Bowl. It was not called the Carnegie Steel Company Rose Bowl or the Rose Bowl presented by Oldsmobile, it was just the Rose Bowl. In the 1930s the Rose Bowl was joined by the Orange Bowl (1935), Sugar Bowl (1935), Sun Bowl (1935), and Cotton Bowl (1937). The Gator Bowl was added to the mix in 1946. The names were simple.  The sponsors quiet. This... Read More